least action-control efficiency

[Jim Dundon 07.07.06.1212edt]

I have have been reading and studying all the related posts and realize it would be good for me to be able to convert my thoughts into PCT math and descriptives. My son has agreed to help me, he doubles up in math classes in school and get straight A’s so that ought to speed things up a little.

I’m studying the math contained in the e-mails as well as the appendix in B:CP.

In the meantime I like to jump back in and continue the dialogue as best I can because it helps to clarify my thinking.

It looks like Rick’s observation that what I call the efficiency, PCT calls gain, is pretty close to the mark. I realize that these conversations have been focused on efficiency which is quite okay because they have all been very enlightening but it really was not my intent to focus on efficiency but to discover what it is on the unconscious level which inclined us toward least something [I thought good control implied minimum effort] which appears to be present in purposeful behavior. I suggested many possible descriptors one of which was efficiency and it seemed that efficiency was the one most easily thought of.

It may be simultaneously true that a least something corresponds simultaneously to a more something. In the case of PCT I suppose less error means more gain.

In reviewing some of the things I have on hand I was looking through the Oxford companion to the mind and came across the following.

“It seems clear that,… there is a major element of anticipation in response to a stimulus. If the importance of anticipation had been generally realized the history of experimental psychology would have been very different-- for the immensely [indeed seductively] powerful stimulus-response paradigm would surely not have been accepted as the basis of perception and behavior”

The above quote is under “personal equation”

Under “reaction time”