Control of Gun Mounts and Negative Feedback Systems

[From Fred Nickols (2015.01.31.1523.EST)]

[From Fred Nickols (2015.01.31.1454 EST)]

I’ve been trying to follow the homeostasis thread. Not sure I’m doing so well but it does raise a question; namely, whether or not a system that uses negative feedback is necessarily a control system. I have in mind the gunfire control systems I tended to when I was a technician in the Navy. So I changed the subject line.

One of the pieces of equipment I tended to was the computer. It calculated gun orders which served to position the gun mount. The circuits controlling the gun mounts were clearly what we typically mean by a control system, i.e., the gun orders (train and elevation) were the reference signals, the actual position of the gun mount were the perceptions, and the amplifiers and motors that controlled the gun mount treated any difference as a discrepancy and operated the motors so as to bring actual gun mount position and ordered gun mount position into correspondence.

However, in the computer, there were also servomechanism with amplifiers, etc., and in some cases negative feedback did not constitute a control system; at least not in the sense I understand it. To be specific, the gun order modules themselves were controlled by servos driven by signals from small amplifiers. The amplifiers made use of positive and negative feedback. The positive feedback served to increase the torque so that the gun order module moved very quickly and with consider strength. The negative feedback served to stabilize that movement so that it was jittery (no sense in jerking around a five ton gun mount). I don’t think the presence of the negative feedback in the gun order amplifiers constitutes a control system all by itself.

Am I wrong?

Regards,

Fred Nickols

Distance Consulting LLC

www.nickols.us

Regards,

Fred Nickols, CPT

Distance Consulting LLC

Assistance at a Distance

The Knowledge Workers’ Tool Room