Origins

Hello CSG-ers,

How is everyone? My name’s Andrew Willett. I’m currently a senior at Vassar College, studying Cognitive Science and German, and I am just beginning my undergraduate dissertation, in which I am exploring the value of PCT from a variety of angles (I’ve spent the past 3 years getting to know the theory and collaborating with a few of the folks who have been part of CSGnet–been grateful for these opportunities).

My question is simple: what source(s) influenced PCT’s synthesis most notably? I am aware of some sources, which predated PCT, which are cited in Powers, MacFarland, and Clark (1960)~mentioned below~ [[Dr. Mansell also mentioned LCS III section introductions as well as Powers’ section in The Cognitive Behavioral Therapist (2009) as a possible literature mentioning further influential predating sources]].

However, it is unclear which of these played the biggest role (if one can argue this even~subjective, no?) in Powers-MacFarland-Clark’ early synthesis of the theory. I would love to hear what everyone thinks.

Sources mentioned in Powers, MacFarland, Clark (1960):

1. Ashby, W. R. (1952). Design for a brain.

2. Frank, L. K. et al. (1948). Teleological mechanisms.

3. Fulton, J.F. (1949). Physiology of the nervous system

4. Hebb (1954) Brain mechanisms and Consciousness

5. Hebb (1949). Organization of Behavior: a Neurophysiological Theory

6. Hick & Bates (1950). Human operator of Control Mechanisms

7. Korn & Korn (1952). Electronic Analogue Computers.

8. Shannon & Weaver (1949). The Mathematical Theory of Communication.

9. Soroka (1954). Analogue methods in Computation and Simulation.

10. Truxall (1955). Control System Synthesis.

11. Wiener (1948). Cybernetics.

Kind Regards,

Andrew

[From Fred Nickols (2016.09.11.1525 ET)]

Hello, Andrew.