PCT, Causality and the Cause-Effect Model (was Re: world model)

[From Rick Marken (2017.10.15.1150)

image379.png

···

Martin Taylor (2017.10.15.00.31)–

MT: How on earth do you reconcile this straightforward statement with a

claim that Bill rejects causality in a control loop?

RM: I never claimed that Bill rejects causality in a control loop. You keep saying that I reject causality when, in fact, all I’ve been rejecting is what Bill is rejecting in these quotes: the classical cause effect model of behavior. I posted these quotes to show that when I say exactly what Bill said you find a way of interpreting what I say as meaning something ridiculous, such as that I reject causality – or, more specifically that I reject the existence of causality in a feedback loop. This is good politics (I think you’ve managed to convince most people on CSGNet that you are an expert on PCT and I’m a struggling amateur) but not necessarily good science. So let me take this opportunity to explain where I “stand” with respect to causality in a control loop (this is also an answer to Bruce Abbott (2017.10.14.1905 EDT), who also has issues with me regarding causality).Â

RM: Here is what I believe about causality:Â Â

1. I believe our sensory input (q.i) is always a result of the simultaneous effect of environmental events (q.d) and our own outputs (q.o). That is, at all times what we experience is caused by both what is happening in the environment and what we are doing (or not doing).  For example, what I am seeing at any instant depends on what is out there in the environment and which way my head and eyes are currently pointed. The equation that we use to describe this fact,  q.i = h(q.d) + g(q.o), represents a causal relationship between the variables q.d, q.o and q.i. What it says is that q.d and q.o simultaneously cause, via the functions h() and g(), the current value of q.i.Â