Revolutionary PCT - John's Idea

[Richard Pfau: 09-25-2010; 11:00 PT]

John,

Your idea of assembling a collection of "essential PCT item statements" reminds me of one of the best known and read Buddhist texts called the "Dhammapada". This is a collection of verses one or two sentences long, many or most of which were presumably uttered by the Buddha - but perhaps written by others also. The verses are organized into chapters related to their various topics.

This book has been a basic reference, widely read, by those wishing to learn more and improve their thinking and behavior.

As a teaching/learning device, your idea seems like a good idea -- and the Buddhist variation of it has certainly helped many people. You would make a good contribution is you followed through on your idea, perhaps, if necessary for full coverage, with a co-author who is steeped in PVT.

With Regards,
Richard Pfau

I'm a seasoned teacher who's trying to gain an
understanding of the PCT landscape and it's dimensions.
Putting some of my experience of instructional design techniques into
practice I've thought about assembling a list of what could be called
'essential PCT item statements', as gleaned from the literature. From
my perspective an item-statement is a relatively short single notion
in

···

Hi John,

I agree entirely with Richard, however, I would like to see more than a list of propositions. Rather, how about a matrix that includes the similarities and differences between PCT and a model that represents its polar opposite. The tension between the two models would facilitate a form of force-field analysis, the resulting equilibrium of which would result in a third column which represents a balanced synthesis between the two models, that is, a form of balanced ternary logic (+1,0,-1).