Some Idle Speculation

Fred Nickols (2019.09.20.1549 ET)

I’ve mentioned before that the way I keep my car in the center of its lane (or at least hope that’s where I keep it) has to do with my perceptions of the relationship between points on my windshield and the right and center lane markers.

I’ve been driving for more than 65 years and I’ve noticed several lane patterns. First are the “wanderers” - they tend to move all over their lane but, thank goodness, by and large they stay in it. Then there are the “right side huggers;” they stay very close to the right lane marker. The last group are the “center line huggers;” they stay very close to the center line.

I was wondering about their reference signals and their perceptions. Suppose a right side hugger thinks he or she is staying in the center of the lane. The stated reference signal is OK but their perception seems to be matching a reference signal that is skewed to the right. Same for the center line huggers. They might think they’re staying in the center of the lane but their control places them elsewhere.

So, it seems to me that if you want to keep your car in the center of the lane, you might go somewhere where you can park in the center of the lane and then get behind the wheel and find some perceptual clues you can use to maintain that position when driving.

I know this is grade school stuff but it seems to me that an awful lot of training in the workplace could benefit from developing appropriate reference signals that match perceptions what is expected.

Has anybody explored that? If so, who? Where are the papers?

···

Regards,

Fred Nickols

Managing Partner

Distance Consulting LLC

“My Objective is to Help You Achieve Yours”

www.nickols.us