Steering task model, help needed

Hello,

I’m a psychology student from Croatia.

I’m trying to make a model for a steering task on a computer, and I’m stuck.

The steering task involves moving a cursor through a curved path, as fast as possible.

What control systems are involved in control of steering? My guess was velocity control and angle control, but I can’t seem to make the system work.

Does someone have an idea how should the systems be organised? What input functions would I need?

Perhaps there is a similar model somewhere?

Best,

Adam

[From Bill Powers (2011.01.29.1724 MST)]

Hello,

I'm a psychology student from Croatia.
I'm trying to make a model for a steering task on a computer, and I'm stuck.
The steering task involves moving a cursor through a curved path, as fast as possible.

A little more detail, please. Is the task supposed to have something to do with steering a car or an airplane? Or is it just about moving a cursor on the screen? Assuming the latter ...

This is evidently a two-dimensional task, since the hand will have to move in X and Y in terms of the mouse movements (or are you using a joystick?). In our simple tracking tasks a one-dimensional model works very well, since the main motion is the pitch angle at the shoulder joint as the mouse is pushed and pulled along a straight line. The forearm is confined to a level line by contact of the mouse with the table. With two dimensions, the hand will have to move from side to side as well as away from and toward the subject. If you restrict the amount of motion you might be able to use a simple model with one control system for each of two dimensions, though the two control systems will have to be adjusted independently to match the data, since the characteristics of the real control systems will be somewhat different in the two directions.