The Irony of Illusion

Last night I watched a PBS Nova show called "Your Brain: Who’s in Control?. I was surprised to see that I knew two of the featured researchers on that show. One was Mike Gazzaniga, who was at UC Santa Barabara when I was a grad student there and a good friend of my PhD thesis adviser. That was over 50 years ago and it showed in Mike’s appearance. But he did a nice job of describing his fascinating research on “split brian” patients – people who had their corpus callosum sectioned as a treatment for severe epilepsy.

The other was Uri Maoz, who I know only as the first author of the paper that showed pretty clearly that the so called power law of movement is a statistical side effect of producing curved movement and tells you nothing about how the movement was produced (Maoz et al, 2006). That is, Maoz et al showed that the power law is a behavioral illusion.

For some reason, Maoz et al rejected what was obvious from their own research, saying “We do not suggest that the power-law, which stems from analysis of human data, is a bogus phenomenon…”, “bogus phenomenon” being the non-PCT way of saying “behavioral illusion”. What is interesting about this (to me) is that Maoz’s segment on the “Your Brain” program shows him to be a remarkably skilled magician – a master of illusion.

Maoz does several magic tricks in his segment of the program, the denouement of the best one starts 42 minutes and 35 seconds into the program. It’s a classic “mind reading” trick that is explained here by ChatGPT. The reason for including this trick is never clearly explained but based on what the point of the segment seemed to be I believe it was used to illustrate the contention that things we think we are doing intentionally (with “agency”) often are not. The program host’s choice of the word from a book that matched the one previously hidden on her in an envelope was apparently “forced” (per the ChatGPT explanation) by the “mind reader/ magician”, Maoz.