The more I read the more questions I get... 🙈

Hey everyone,

I’m a beginner in learning and understanding PCT and MOL. I’m currently reading ‘Principles-Based Counselling and Psychotherapy, a method of levels approach’. I’m currently reading chapter 8 and there popping up lots of questions. I’m gonna try to ask them as clear as possible (I’m not a native English speaker):

Can behavior be seen as a manner to contol your perceptual input? I understand that it’s not the behavior you (try to) control, but your perception. You need your perception to be a certain way and as I understand (but I can be really wrong) by doing certain things (like heating up your cup of tea because you want a warm cup of tea) you change the perception how it is right now to what you want it to be.

Is the definition of perception according to PCT the same as the definition according to the dutch dictionary: an observation that involves interpretation, selection and organization of sensory information? And thereby an individual, subjective thing (because you are the one interpreting, selecting and organizing the sensory information).

Can the question ‘what do you control?’ depends on how you see control? According to PCT you don’t control your behavioral output, you control your perceptual input. But isn’t doing something to get your perception to a certain way also a kind of lower level control? You do something you think/hope changes what is to what you want it to be.

Thank you in advance!

1 Like

Mara,

Here are some preliminary answers to your questions. However, I am sure that other experienced PCTers can do even better.