volition and implementation intentions

Hello all PCTers!

My 1st ever post here (email),

I’m very new to PCT so bear with me here please.

I have recently come across ‘volition and implementation intentions’ and I wanted to know a bit more about the intrcacies of goal setting/attainment etc.

An expert in this field is Professor Peter M. Gollwitzer,

I’ll just include a few links here;
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Implementation_intention
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volition_%28psychology%29
http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs11031-014-9416-3#/page-1
http://blogs-images.forbes.com/stevemeyer/files/2014/11/chart-3.jpg

The last link above is an image that comes from a post on Forbes website here;

http://www.forbes.com/sites/stevemeyer/2014/11/18/your-new-years-resolutions-will-fail-again-unless-you-do-this/

If you do have time, please read the forbes article (It’s short and sweet, but really makes a case for ‘If/Then’ statements to achive goals (implementation intentions).

So, why email this here, and what does this have to do with PCT?

In the article the author called Gollwitzer at NYU to ask him him why our brains process if-then statements so differently from mere goal intentions.

His reply was as follows;
“When you have a goal intention –“ ‘I want to achieve an outcome’ – the ‘I’ is in the middle of it,â€? he said. “It’s a top-down regulation of action. It’s me who regulates where I want to go. The if-then plan delegates the control to an external stimulus. It links the situation to the response, so it’s the stimulus, not you, that controls the action. It’s a switch from top-down to bottom-up.â€?

I’ve highlighted the problem phrase I seem to be wrestling with.

In PCT , stimulus doesn’t control the action, it’s you, your pre determined reference signal, that you constantly are comparing to perceptual external stimuli (disturbance) through all your senses that means your behaviour is the control of perception.