Why are you excited about PCT? (was Re: goal of our researchgate project)

[Rick Marken 2019-04-19_11:18:28]

···

Richard S. MarkenÂ

"Perfection is achieved not when you have nothing more to add, but when you
have nothing left to take away.�
                --Antoine de Saint-Exupery

(David Goldstein 2019-04-20/12:37 pm)

The concept of a negative feedback control system as the building block is exciting. It unifies biology and psychology:

The emphasis on controlling experiences by means of behavior makes one ask about the function of any behavior.

As a therapist, I assume that some important experiences are not under adequate control. I try to identify them and help a person control them better.

···

On Apr 19, 2019, at 2:18 PM, Richard Marken (rsmarken@gmail.com via csgnet Mailing List) csgnet@lists.illinois.edu wrote:

On Thu, Apr 18, 2019 at 5:22 AM Bill Leach csgnet@lists.illinois.edu wrote:

BL: I do hope that others will not be
too offended by my response to this post.

RM: I think many of the conflicts on CSGNet result from the fact that we have all had our “come to PCT moment” for different reasons. I think it may help calm things down a bit if each of us on CSGNet could describe why we got excited about PCT. Even if it doesn’t lead to a kumbaya spirit on CSGNet I think it would be interesting to know why people got excited about PCT and are often so passionate about it. I would be interested in hearing from everyone on CSGNet – not just the regulars. It doesn’t have to be long and I don’t think this is the kind of thing that you can be judged right or wrong on so there is no need to be afraid of posting if fear of judgement is what has kept you from posting previously. I’ll start the ball rolling to show what I’m looking for: